Faculty

   

Mavis Agbandje-McKenna, Ph.D.
Professor

 

Phone: 294-8393
Email:  mckenna@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Structure to function correlation for ssDNA viruses

 

Andrew Berglund, Ph.D.
Professor

 

Phone: 273-7888
Email: aberglund@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Regulation of RNA processing and molecular mechanisms of neurological disease

 

Linda B. Bloom, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Chair

 

Phone: 294-8379
Email:  lbloom@ufl.edu
Research Interests: DNA replication, DNA repair, Protein-nucleic acid interactions

 

Kevin D. Brown, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

 

Phone: 273-5458
Email:  kdbrown1@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Mechanisms controlling genome stability

 

Jorg Bungert, Ph.D.
Professor

 

Phone:  273-8098
Email:  jbungert@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Molecular Genetics

 

Brian D. Cain, Ph.D.
Professor

 

Phone:  294-8381
Email:  bcain@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Membrane ATPases and endothelin gene regulation

 

James B. Flanegan, Ph.D. 
Professor and Chair

 

Phone:  294-8384
Email:  flanegan@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Replication of RNA Viruses

 

Susan C. Frost, Ph.D.
Professor

 

Phone:  294-8386
Email:  sfrost@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Regulation of Membrane-bound Carbonic Anhydrases in Breast Cancer

 

Suming Huang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

 

Phone:  273-8199
Email:  sumingh@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Epigenetic regulation of chromatin structure and gene expression

 

Michael S. Kilberg, Ph.D.
Professor

 

Phone:  294-8388
Email:  mkilberg@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Gene expression, Nutrient stress, Transcriptional control mechanisms

 

Michael P. Kladde, Ph.D.
Professor

 

Phone:  273-8142
Email:  kladde@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Epigenetic regulation of gene expression; single-molecule studies of chromatin structure

Mary Jo Koroly, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Director, Center for Pre-Collegiate Education and Training
 

Phone:  294-8390
Email:  korolymj@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Membrane Biology

 

Joanna R. Long, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

 

Phone: 294-8399
Email:  jrlong@ufl.edu
Research Interests: protein structure and dynamics, membrane proteins, extracelluar matrices, NMR, lipid assembly and dynamics

 

Jianrong Lu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

 

Phone: 273-8200
Email:  jrlu@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Transcriptional and
epigenetic regulation of cancer

 

Thomas H. Mareci, Ph.D.
Professor

 

Phone:  273-5348
Email:  thmareci@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Structure and function in the nervous system

 

Robert McKenna, Ph.D.
Professor

 

Phone:  294-8395
Email:  rmckenna@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Structural studies of carbonic anhydrase, carnitine acetyltransferase, prenylating enzymes, actin complexes and replication proteins of adeno-associated virus

   

Matthew E. Merritt, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

 

Phone: 294-8397
Email: matthewmerritt@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Metabolism, stable isotope tracing, magnetic resonance, and hyperpolarization of substrates for use as metabolic contrast agents

 

Daniel L. Purich, Ph.D.
Professor

 

Phone:  294-8400
Email:  dlpurich@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Actin-based motility

 

Mingyi Xie, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

 

Phone: 273-8171
Email: mingyi.xie@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Gene expression regulation by non-coding RNAs; microRNA biogenesis

 

Thomas P. Yang, Ph.D.
Professor

 

Phone:  294-8401
Email:  tpyang@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Epigenetic regulation of transcription