Mentor Match Celebration 2018


Selecting a mentor to oversee a student’s scientific training and development is a vital first step in the journey towards a Ph.D. The Fall 2017 cohort of students have successfully selected a mentor and research concentration. The Graduate Program in Biomedical Sciences recognized this important milestone with an inaugural Mentor-Match Celebration on August 16, 2018.

Dr. Thomas Rowe, Associate Dean for Graduate Education, Dr. Adrian Tyndall, Interim Dean of the College of Medicine, and Dr. Bert FlaneganBiochemistry and Molecular Biology Department Chair, along with our 2017 cohort of students and their mentors celebrated this milestone as they further commit to their Ph.D. path.

2017 Cohort

  • Joseph Ellis – Mentor: Andy Berglund, Ph.D.
  • Shanan Emmanuel – Mentor: Mavis Agbandje-McKenna, Ph.D.
  • Jared Richardson – Mentor: Andy Berglund, Ph.D.

    Mentor Match 2018
    Shanan Emmanuel with her mentor, Dr. Mavis Agbandje-McKenna, and department chair, Dr. Bert Flanegan.