Postdoctoral Associates

 

  Name Email address Mentor Research Focus
Daniel Downes  

Downes, Daniel

 

downesdp@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Matthew Merritt

 

Analysis of metabolic pools and flux by NMR and mass spectrometry.

Melissa Hale  

Hale, Melissa

 

melissahale@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Andrew Berglund

 

Exploration of co-regulation of alternative splicing my multiple RNA binding proteins and the impacts of this co-regulation in neuromuscular disorders.

 

Khattri, Ram

 

rbk11@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Matthew Merritt

 

NMR based metabolomics and flux analysis, quantification of metabolites level via 1H NMR, multivariate statistical analysis, metabolic modeling of fluxes using 13C NMR data.

 Mengwei Liang  

Liang, Mengwei

 

mingweiliang@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Jianrong Lu

 

Delineating the epigenetic and metabolic pathways that regulate tumor progression and therapeutic resistance. Investigating the molecular mechanisms underlying epithelial-to-mesenchymal transition (EMT) in carcinomas. Identifying and characterizing regulators of altered metabolism in cancer.

Rohit Mahar  

Mahar, Rohit

 

rmahar@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Matthew Merritt

Measuring metabolic flux study in the living systems using the advanced Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopic techiniques. Using 2H and 1H NMR to measure de novo lipogenesis (DNL) of fatty acids in the liver, applying standard 1H NMR metabolomics methods to study overall metabolic homeostasis in these models.
 

Mietzsch, Mario

 

mario.mietzsch@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Mavis Agbandje-McKenna

 

Structural characterization of the capsids of adeno-associated viruses (AAV) and pathogenic human parvoviruses by cryo-electron microscopy (Cryo-EM) and their molecular analysis with regards to host cell receptor recognition and antigenicity.

   

Penzes, Judit

 

judit.penzes@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Mavis Agbandje-McKenna

 

Structural and functional studies on proteins of dependoparvoviruses (family Parvoviridae); host-virus interactions, structure and cellular trafficking of reptilian parvoviruses.

   

Ragavan, Mukundan

 

mukundan@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Matthew Merritt

 

Quantitative assessment of metabolic flux in the heart and liver using stable isotope tracers and hyperpolarized NMR methodologies.

   

Reddy, Kaalak

 

kaalak.reddy@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Andrew Berglund

 

Modulation of toxic RNA production for therapeutic benefit in neuromuscular disorders.

   

Rivière, Gwladys

 

gwladys.riviere@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Joanna Long

 

Sample preparation and protein analysis by ss-NMR and liquid-NMR.

   

Sheng, Peike

 

peike.sheng@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Mingyi Xie

 

Explore the mechanisms of alternative miRNA biogenesis pathways and optimize shRNA construct for m7G-capped pre-miRNAs.

Space Holder  

Zhang, Guanyang (Gavin)

 

zhangg@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Michael Kladde

 
   

Zhou, Mingqi

 

mqzhou@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Michael Kladde

 

Determining the molecular basis of epigenetic changes in DNA methylation and chromatin structure in response to low-dose irradiation in Arabidopsis and Brassica species.