Posted in

Recent News

UF researcher receives grant to study repair mechanism of DNA

Melike Caglayan, Ph.D., an assistant professor in the department of biochemistry and molecular biology in the University of Florida College of Medicine, has been awarded a $1.8 million grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences to study the repair mechanism of DNA.

Biomedical sciences program cohort matched with mentors

As doctoral candidates in the UF College of Medicine’s Graduate Program in Biomedical Sciences prepare for careers of scientific research and discovery, they are matched with faculty mentors who will guide their efforts. The cohort of second-year Ph.D. candidates, who were recently matched with their mentors, celebrated this important milestone…

Shanan Emmanuel wins the Ruska Award

Shana Emmanuel, a current Ph.D. student in Dr. McKenna's lab, was awarded the Ruska Award. This prestigious award is given by the Southeastern Microscopy Society. Shanan's presentation was titled "Engineering rAAV9 Antibody Escape Variants Through Structure Guided Approach." Congratulations on your hard work, Shanan!

Doctor Gator

Summer Academic and Mentoring Programs at College of Medicine aim to build pipeline to health professions...

Two Alumni Earn Distinction in Scholarship Recognition

Two recent graduates of our Biochemistry and Molecular Biology concentration, Drs. Lauren Douma and Kristen Solocinski are co-first authors on a paper that has been highlighted as one of this month's "best of the best" as part of the American Physiological Society's (APS) APSselect program!

Congratulations to our Fall 2018 Graduates!

The Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology would like to congratulate and commemorate our Fall 2018 graduating masters and doctoral students on their excellent achievement!